Bear Valley

Today I set off to go on a bike ride and walk/hike at Point Reyes.

I loaded my mountain bike on my Hollywood Racks bike rack and set off for the Bear Valley visitors center which was a little over an hour away.

IMG_1646.JPG

The drive out there was quite scenic.

Once I arrived at the Bear Valley Visitors center I went in to get a map of the area and scout the trail I was going to take.  I decided to take the Bear Valley Trail -> Coastal Trail, this is a trail i’ve been on several times before and I knew it wouldn’t be a long trail.

pt_reyes.png

The trail is about a 3.3 mile bike ride, from there you have to park your bike (bring a bike lock, there’s bike racks) and then walk the remaining .9 or so miles down the coastal trail.

I set off on the ride and the scenery was beautiful.  I started my ride at a little past 11:00am

img_1667

about half way on the ride when you get to the peak of a hill you’ll find a nice rest area with restrooms, from here its a nice fun downhill ride to the bike rack.

img_1671

the roads were a little damp and so mud was on me and the bike.

img_1673

From here I parked and locked my bike and set off on a nice walk.

img_1674

The scenery was beautiful, I was half tempted to bring my “real” camera but didn’t, maybe i’ll go back and get some more photos.

img_1688

At some points on the road there was some standing water, some muddy areas, and I did slip (didn’t fall) a few times.

img_1682

I was able to get this nice pano once the trees cleared.

img_1687

finally I saw what I came for.. the ocean.  The clouds were perfect letting just the right amount of light in.

img_1694

I reached this point at about 12:00pm.  I didn’t want to keep going all the way to the beach, this was enough as I still had to walk/ride back.  Although it took me about an hour to get here it did feel like it took longer.

I made it back to my car at about 1:30pm and even though it took me more time to get back it seemed like shorter.

All in all according to my handy Apple Watch, I took 10,345 steps and my total distance was 5.3 miles (I don’t think this accounted for some of the riding and I did walk/push my bike back for a while).  I’d estimate that I rode 6.7 miles and walked 5.3 miles.

Some things to consider when coming.

  • The weather was about 54 degrees today.  I wore sweats out there but ended up taking my sweatpants off and just wearing shorts.
  • Pack some snacks, I had plenty of water, some oranges, and some clif bars.
  • Bring a bike lock to lock your bike at the bike rack.
  • bring some napkins, my bike kicked mud all over my water bottle.
  • I forgot to bring my knife, and although I didn’t see any wild animals I sure which I had brought it “just in case”.
  • wear some comfortable walking shoes
  • there’s no cell phone service out there so make sure you tell someone where you are prior to starting your walk.
One thought on “Bear Valley

Leave a Reply

